Tag: Canterbury Heritage Awards 2021

Warren Trust Heritage Lecture 2021

Tickets are sill available:

The Canterbury Heritage Awards is proud to bring back the thought-provoking and educational Warren Trust heritage lecture again for 2021.

Date: Thursday 10 June 2021

Venue: Gloucester Room, Isaac Theatre Royal

Time: 5:30pm

Cost: $10 includes light refreshments

You can purchase tickets at the following link:


Keynote Speaker – Patrick Clifford

Patrick is a founding Director of Architectus and has been responsible for the design leadership of the practice’s major projects throughout New Zealand. He was awarded the highest honour in New Zealand architecture – the Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects’ Gold Medal in 2014 in recognition of his contribution to the body of work produced by Architectus.

Under his design leadership, Architectus has created an unrivalled record of award-winning projects across all building types. Architectus’ work has been recognised for its clarity of intent and resolution, its careful reading of context and content and ability to advance a broad cultural agenda. Heritage informs all the work whether it be at building or urban scale, or as a particular focus. Recent projects include ongoing contributions to the remaking of the Wynyard Quarter on Auckland’s waterfront that build on this marine industrial setting , a number of additions to the campus of the University of Auckland ,and the Centennial Chapel at St. Andrew’s College in Christchurch ,which retains a memory of its past by integrating and celebrating elements of its lost heritage, while responding sensitively to needs of the present.

Patrick is an astute and articulate architectural commentator. He has maintained a long running association with both schools of architecture in Auckland as a critic and tutor, including a two year Adjunct Professorship at Unitec. He has lectured widely on the work of Architectus both nationally and internationally, and contributed to a wide range of industry groups and organisations and is a past President of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

William Fulton NZIA B.Bsc, Dip LA, BArch

William is a registered Architect with over 15 years of professional experience following a double qualification in Architecture and Landscape Architecture. He specialises in Heritage Conservation and Project delivery. He has been a Director of Fulton Ross Team Architects since 2007, and has a long list of involvement with Heritage projects both prior to and after the Canterbury earthquakes. These include, High St Revitalisation, New Regent St, Home & Family and the Trinity/Shand’s Restoration  Project.

Box112 Canterbury Heritage Awards 2021 Finalists

The finalists have been announced:

Domestic Saved and Restored:

  • Islay Cottage (Tony & Brenda Good)
  • Montrose Station Homestead (Wilson & Hill Architects)
  • The Britten Stables (The Britten Stables Ltd)
  • The Vicarage, Geraldine (Michael & Brigitte Barker)
  • Thornton Earl Manor (AO Architecture Ltd)

Public Realm Saved and Restored:

  • Balmoral Fire Lookout (Hawarden Waikari Lions Club)
  • Corner Kilmore and Barbadoes Streets (Tim & Anna Chesney)
  • Majestic on Durham (Sheppard & Rout)
  • The Pumphouse (P & J Snowdon & CGW Consulting Engineers)
  • Rose Chapel (Christchurch City Council)
  • The School of Art (The Arts Centre Te Matatiki Toi Ora)
  • The Nurses’ Memorial Chapel (Christchurch City Council)

Outstanding Contribution to Heritage:

  • Governors Bay Heritage Trust
  • Te Whare Waiutuutu Kate Sheppard House (Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga)
  • Ng King Chinese Market Garden Settlement (Ng King descendants & Ashburton District Council)
  • Structural Performance book (Dmytro Dizhur)


The Stephen Collins Memorial Seismic Award, In recognition of services to heritage and leadership in personally building one of the strongest buildings in Christchurch.

  • Christchurch Town Hall (Warren and Mahoney)
  • Muse Art Hotel (Box 112)
  • Rakaia Gorge No. 1 Bridge (WSP & Downer)
  • Sacred Heart Basilica, Timaru (WSP NZ Ltd)
  • St Peter’s Church, Upper Riccarton (Church Property Trustees)
  • The Public Trust Office Building (Box 112)

Heritage Tourism:

  • Amiki Tours Urban Exploring (Amiki NZ Ltd)
  • Awaroa/Godley Head Coastal Defence Site (Department of Conservation)
  • Riverside Market Mural (Riverside Limited)
  • Waka on Avon (Ko Tane)

Future Heritage:

  • Aldersgate Centre (Wilkie + Bruce)
  • Memorial Bridge (Warren and Mahoney)
  • St Bede’s College Chapel (Wilkie + Bruce Architects)
  • Tūranga Christchurch Central Library (Architectus)

The Supreme Awards Winner will be selected from the Category Award Winners.

The 2021 Awards Ceremony will be held on 11 June at the Christ’s College Dining Hall. For information on purchasing tickets, please email info@heritageawards.co.nz.