Entries Nearly Double In Second Year Of Awards – Canterbury Heritage Awards

Canterbury Heritage Awards logo 2012This media release finally  found its way to us and positive heritage news is always worth celebrating!

Friday 24 August 2012
For immediate release

Entries nearly double in second year of awards

Entries for the 2012 Canterbury Heritage Awards are now closed and organisers are pleased to announce that entries have nearly doubled since the inaugural awards which were launched in a pre-earthquake Christchurch in 2010 (entry numbers 2012 - 42, 2010 - 25).

“We received over 80 nominations from the local community for buildings, facades and structures, cultural attractions, exhibitions and individual heritage advocates, who they felt should be recognised in this year’s awards. More than half of those nominated individuals/organisations submitted an entry; heritage values are still very strong in the region” added Christchurch Heritage Awards Charitable Trust Chair, Anna Crighton.

The Canterbury Heritage Awards recognise the achievement of heritage conservation in six categories including:
Heritage Retention (sponsored by Heritage Management Services) – building or façade retained post-earthquake.
Heritage Restoration (sponsored by Fortis Construction Ltd) – conservation/restoration of a structure including rehabilitation, adaptive re-use or continued maintenance.
Heritage Tourism (sponsored by Christchurch & Canterbury Tourism) – cultural tourist attraction.
Heritage Champion (sponsored by Christchurch Heritage Trust) – recognising individuals, companies and organisations for their dedication/leadership towards heritage retention.
Heritage Landscape (sponsored by The Press) – preservation of the natural environment.
Seismic (sponsored by Ceres NZ) - recognition of commitment, investment or a unique solution to earthquake strengthening.

The judging panel for the awards is chaired by Anna Crighton and includes international heritage expert Jim Gard’ner from Heritage Victoria, Jasper van der Lingen (Sheppard & Rout Architects Ltd), Di Lucas (Lucas Associates), Dr Terry Ryan (Te Rununga o Ngai Tahu), Grant Wilkinson (Ruamoko Solutions) and Shonagh Kenderdine (New Zealand Historic Places Trust).

Judging takes place in August with the winners announced at an awards ceremony to be held at Rangi Ruru Girls’ School on Thursday 13 September 2012. The ceremony will also acknowledge the significant heritage buildings that have been lost as a result of the 2010/2011 earthquakes – ‘Lost Christchurch – In Memoriam’. Tickets are available to purchase for the awards ceremony.

In addition to the awards, a Heritage Lecture will be hosted by Jim Gard’ner on Wednesday 12 September 2012. Sponsored by The Warren Trust, the public lecture titled ‘Finding a Future for Christchurch’s Post-quake Heritage’ will look at some of the ways Christchurch can recognise, celebrate and revitalise its heritage, both tangible and intangible. A limited number of tickets are available for the lecture.

For more information visit www.heritageawards.co.nz.

Comments are closed.