“Landmarks Whenua Tohunga”- Details Of the Heritage Initiative (Sourced MCH Website)

(Image sourced Ministry Culture and Heritage)

Landmarks Whenua Tohunga : 

Northland and Otago are the  two Landmarks Whenua Tohunga that have been launched thus far. The Ministry of Culture and Heritage (MCH) has the following explanation and details on its website.

The following explanatory quotes were taken from the MCH site:

"Landmarks Whenua Tohunga promotes New Zealand's unique culture and connects visitors to our stories and places.

Landmarks is a partnership between Manatū Taonga - Ministry for Culture and Heritage, the Department of Conservation Te Papa Atawhai, and Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. The programme provides a unified approach to promoting and encouraging people to visit New Zealand’s historically and culturally important places.

Northland is home to many of these stories, which is why it was chosen as the region to launch Landmarks in 2016. Landmarks Northland was developed together with our Northland partners, Te Tai Tokerau iwi and hapū, and the tourism sector.

The programme extended into the Otago region in December 2017 in partnership with papatipu runanka and local communities.

"Criteria for sites

Sites must meet a set criteria to qualify. Sites must have:

  • special significance to New Zealand
  • storytelling potential
  • iwi benefit
  • community benefit
  • stories that matter to people
  • accessibility
  • family friendly facilities
  • potential to grow
  • a high level of presentation
  • an owner willing to be part of Landmarks.

More details including a full description of the criteria of Landmarks Whenua Tohunga can be found at the MCH  website:

Comments are closed.