Box 112 2018 Canterbury Heritage Awards Finalists Announced!

The Finalists for the Box 112 Canterbury Heritage Awards have been announced.

The Finalists announced are the following:

2018 Canterbury Heritage Awards Finalists

Domestic Saved and Restored:

  • Tunneller’s Cottage, Arthurs Pass (Mr & Mrs Canton)
  • Strathlachlan Homestead, Doyleston (Mr & Mrs Smith)
  • RJ & BM Stewart – Seay House (Warren & Mahoney Architects Ltd)
  • Tipapa Homestead and Woolshed, Greta Valley (Tipapa)
  • Mona Vale Gatehouse (Christchurch City Council)
  • “Adderley”, Lyttleton (Mr & Mrs Tapley)


Public Realm Saved and Restored:

  • The Clock Tower, The Arts Centre of Christchurch (The Arts Centre of Christchurch Trust)
  • Memorial Shrine – Christchurch Boys’ High School  (Christchurch Boys High School)
  • Shand’s (the Stone Company)
  • Sign of the Takahe (Christchurch City Council)
  • Boys’ High building, Worcester Boulevard (The Arts Centre of Christchurch Trust Board)
  • Dean’s Farm Buildings – Christchurch Boys’ High School  (Christchurch Boys’ High School)
  • Midland Club Building (Three Sixty Architecture Ltd)
  • Spreydon Lodge (Danne Mora Holdings Limited)


Outstanding Contribution to Heritage:

  • Lyttleton Redux (Julia Holden, Artist)
  • Heritage Team (CCC Heritage Team)
  • Historic Places Mid Canterbury, Ashburton

Historic Places Canterbury notes that Historic Places Mid Canterbury were named as finalists in the "Contribution To Heritage Category".


  • Holy Innocents, Mt Peel (Church Property Trustees)
  • Statue of Captain Robert Falcon Scott (Christchurch City Council)
  • St Paul’s Church, Tai Tapu (Church Property Trustees)
  • Dean’s Farm Buildings at Christchurch Boys’ High School  (The Building Intelligence Group on behalf Christchurch Boys’ High School)
  • St. Bartholomew’s Church, Kaiapoi (Church Property Trustees)
  • Christ’s College – kitchen and tower (Wilkie + Bruce Architects)
  • St. Barnabas Church, Fendalton (Church Property Trustees)
  • St. Cuthbert’s Anglican Church, Governor’s Bay (Church Property Trustees)
  • Former St. Luke’s Vicarage (Maiden Group)
  • St. Michael’s Old Stone Building (Church Property Trustees)
  • Mona Vale Homestead (Christchurch City Council)


Heritage Tourism:

  • Heritage Christchurch Old Government Building (OGB) (Heritage Christchurch)
  • Designer Cottages B&B
  • Sign of the Kiwi (Christchurch City Council)
  • Hackthorne Gardens Luxury Accommodation

Historic Places Canterbury notes one of our Corporate Members, Heritage Christchurch is a finalist.


Future Heritage:

  • Cathedral Grammar Junior School (Andrew Barrie Lab & Tezuka Architects)
  • h01 House, Cashmere (Maguire and Harford Architects)
  • St. Andrew’s College Centennial Chapel (Architectus)
  • Christchurch Bus Interchange (Architectus)




Comments are closed.