NZHPT Restructuring: Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Bill Passes First Reading

The Bill (No. 327-1) has been referred to Parliament's Local Government and Environment Committee.
"This bill replaces the Historic Places Act 1993, which established the New Zealand Historic Places Trust (Pouhere Taonga), to rename the Trust as Heritage New Zealand and reform its governance and structure."
First Reading: 8/5/12
Submissions due: 21/6/12 19/7/12
Report due: 8/11/12
Historic Places Aotearoa is preparing a submission. Contact Anna Crighton (President Historic Places Aotearoa.)
Local Government and Environment Committee Members-
Maggie Barry         National Party, North Shore
Chester Borrows    National Party, Whanganui
Jacqui Dean            National Party, Waitaki
Paul Goldsmith,     National Party, List
Gareth Hughes       Green Party, List
Raymond Huo       Labour Party, List
Nikki Kaye               National Party, Auckland Central
Annette King           Labour Party, Rongotai
Moana Mackey        Labour Party, List
Eugenie Sage           Green Party, List,  Deputy-Chairperson
Nicky Wagner          National Party,  Christchurch  Central,   Chairperson
Andrew Williams     NZ First, List
As you will have observed the Heritage Spokespersons Charles Chauvel (Labour) and the Holly Walker (Greens) are not members of this Committee.  We understand that when this Bill is being considered by the Committee it is possible that they can "substitute" for a Committee Member and be formally part of the hearing submissions, report writing etc. We will keep you posted.

Comments are closed.